• Welcome to the Fable Community Forum!

    We're a group of fans who are passionate about the Fable series and video gaming.

    Register Log in

FreeRoam Setup

Albion Knight

Avatar the Old
Premium
Joined
Nov 25, 2006
Messages
6,026
Reaction score
141
Points
205
Age
51
FreeRoam Setup

Depending on where you get them the directions on setting up FreeRoam aren't entirely accurate.

I believe that this is due to the program changing but in some instances the documentation is not updated. Anyway I suspect that this will need to be changed to make it clearer.

FreeRoam Was written by someone, I think, at If you wish to use their site plaese read this first

***Warning Modding Fable can render Fable unusable. Though many have done it successfully and every attempt will be made to help you get it working there are no guarantees***


FreeRoam setup
1. FreeRoam steps
2.
3. Install WinRAR
4.

5. Extract FreeRoam.exe
6. Run FreeRoam.exe
7. From FreeRoam choose File àOpen

8. Navigate to the Folder that has FinalAlbion.wad
The Default location is C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Fable - The Lost Chapters\data\Levels

9. Select FinalAlbion.wad and click Open
10. This should bring you back to the FreeRoam application
11. Choose TNG and Lev(Patched) and clip RIP!
12. Next it asks you where to extract the files. Choose the data folder above the levels folder

13. Now move FinalAlbion.wad to you’re My Documents Folder (for safe keeping)
14. Now go to the folder C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Fable - The Lost Chapters and open userst.ini and change
UseLevelWAD True;àUseLevelWAD False;*
15. Save and close this file and run Fable

*May not be be necesary see below
 

§ephiroxa§

╫|I Am Justice|╫
Premium
Joined
Sep 18, 2006
Messages
9,469
Reaction score
520
Points
365
Age
33
Re: FreeRoam Setup

for my game I didn't have to do steps 14-15. If you just rename the Albion.wad to FinalAblion2.wad it automatically uses something else. Oh well. rep +
 

Albion Knight

Avatar the Old
Premium
Joined
Nov 25, 2006
Messages
6,026
Reaction score
141
Points
205
Age
51
Re: FreeRoam Setup

Thanks Seph, good to note. I'll edit to reflect that.
 

§ephiroxa§

╫|I Am Justice|╫
Premium
Joined
Sep 18, 2006
Messages
9,469
Reaction score
520
Points
365
Age
33
Re: FreeRoam Setup

Albion Knight;57372 said:
Thanks Seph, good to note. I'll edit to reflect that.
No problem. :lol:
 
V

Vegeta

Guest
Re: FreeRoam Setup

The link 2 the download of free roam doesnt work btw
 

§ephiroxa§

╫|I Am Justice|╫
Premium
Joined
Sep 18, 2006
Messages
9,469
Reaction score
520
Points
365
Age
33
Re: FreeRoam Setup

Vegeta;57396 said:
The link 2 the download of free roam doesnt work btw

Just refresh the page
 
V

Vegeta

Guest
Re: FreeRoam Setup

Ok i got the link to work but I cant get passed steps 8-15
 

Albion Knight

Avatar the Old
Premium
Joined
Nov 25, 2006
Messages
6,026
Reaction score
141
Points
205
Age
51
Re: FreeRoam Setup

Vegeta;57411 said:
Ok i got the link to work but I cant get passed steps 8-15
Thanks I fixed the link so It's clearer

Were you able to open FreeRoam?
 

FableFreak

I was the Law!
Joined
Mar 7, 2006
Messages
2,416
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Re: FreeRoam Setup

So how do I know that Free Roam is working?
 

Albion Knight

Avatar the Old
Premium
Joined
Nov 25, 2006
Messages
6,026
Reaction score
141
Points
205
Age
51
Re: FreeRoam Setup

You should be able to walk up hills
Do you have this folder
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Fable - The Lost Chapters\data\Levels\FinalAlbion
 

FableFreak

I was the Law!
Joined
Mar 7, 2006
Messages
2,416
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Re: FreeRoam Setup

As we are already discussing this in PM's, lets keep it there.
 

Orpheus Lupus

The Pretty-Okay Doctor
Joined
Feb 11, 2007
Messages
390
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
32
Re: FreeRoam Setup

Finally! I hadn't heard anywhere how to actually, you know, USE the thing >_<"
 

FableFreak

I was the Law!
Joined
Mar 7, 2006
Messages
2,416
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Re: FreeRoam Setup

:w00t::w00t::w00t::w00t: IT WORKS!!!! IT WORKS!!!! :w00t::w00t::w00t::w00t: :w00t:
 

Albion Knight

Avatar the Old
Premium
Joined
Nov 25, 2006
Messages
6,026
Reaction score
141
Points
205
Age
51
Re: FreeRoam Setup

YES!!!

OK I had the RIP to folder wrong
to you FableFreak for sticking with it and helping me refine the post
 

FableFreak

I was the Law!
Joined
Mar 7, 2006
Messages
2,416
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Re: FreeRoam Setup

*Tears of joy stream down face* And I thought that the only solution was to kill myself... *Unties noose from ceiling* Well, I won't need that until my mid-life crisis.

+rep to you Todd for not giving up on me!
 

§ephiroxa§

╫|I Am Justice|╫
Premium
Joined
Sep 18, 2006
Messages
9,469
Reaction score
520
Points
365
Age
33
Re: FreeRoam Setup

FableFreak;57551 said:
:w00t::w00t::w00t::w00t: IT WORKS!!!! IT WORKS!!!! :w00t::w00t::w00t::w00t: :w00t:

HOORAY!! Happy free roaming! :lol:
 

Dark Drakan

Well-Known Member
Guildmaster
Town Guard
Premium
Joined
Feb 6, 2006
Messages
25,593
Reaction score
2,313
Points
365
Age
35
Re: FreeRoam Setup

Nice to see more people getting into the world of freeroam ^_^
 
L

LionHeadTex

Guest
Re: FreeRoam Setup

Haha!This sure does beat stealing gold from a 300 pund pure-muscle gymnist in the bowerstone fair!:lol:
 
V

Vegeta

Guest
Re: FreeRoam Setup

Albion Knight;57421 said:
Thanks I fixed the link so It's clearer

Were you able to open FreeRoam?


C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Local Settings\Temporary Internet Files\Content.IE5\6EL7A3GA\FreeRoam[1].rar

I got to that... what do I do to it now that its on win rar?
 
Top