• Welcome to the Fable Community Forum!

We're a group of fans who are passionate about the Fable series and video gaming.

Register Log in

[Interview] Edge talks to Peter Molyneux about Fable III and Fable II: Game Episodes

Status
Not open for further replies.

hobbes_pwn

Man's Best Friend...Hobbe
Reaction score
[Interview] Edge talks to Peter Molyneux about Fable III and Fable II: Game Episodes

http://www.edge-online.com/features/interview-peter-molyneux

Edge said:
Why have you implemented this now in Fable II’s life?
There are two reasons, really. The first is that I had a look at how many active Live users there are – I don’t know the exact number but it’s 10 million or something like that – and compared to the number of people that have bought Fable II, about three million, and saw there’s a big divide. As a greedy game designer I ask why. I can sit back and moan about it and wish the game had more presence at retail or whatever, or I could do something about it.

Now, I hate demos. I think demos are the death knell of experiences. Over the years I’ve done demos and they’ve either completely ruined the game, given too much to the player, or they’ve confused people, so I said that we should give away the very first 45 minutes of the game, completely free, and just before you get to Bowerstone up comes this message saying, ‘If you want to continue playing press this button, but if you want to buy the rest of the game, press this’. So people that are interested but don’t want to commit to the full purchase can play more, and people that are into it can buy all of it, and they don’t lose experience or gold they’ve collected.
How are you dealing with download requirements for later episodes which require all of Albion to be available? Will players be faced with a 4gb download before they can play?